IRONMAN


@IRONMANtri His unstoppable will made John Young the first person with dwarfism to finish an Ironman Triathlon. He wasn’t the first to try, and some have died from this exhaustive trial.
According to CNN , “Swim, bike and run. In that order. And that’s basically it. The deceptively simple idea for the popular sport of triathlon is built upon a triple challenge that pushes one’s body and mental perseverance to reach beyond a single discipline.”
If you knew the immense pain, and battering to bones and muscle this man put his body through, you would understand why I admire him so. For an average athlete, this is an extreme challenge; for a person with dwarfism, this is a labor that inflicts great pain and danger to his body. He didn’t stop. He made it to the end and he may pay for it.
A person with Achondroplasia, the condition that causes John’s dwarfism, has a body built in so many ways that are different than the average stature person there are too many to list.  Just one example: Spinal Claudication is different than the average type; in dwarfs I can describe it as the amount of blood vessels is the same amount of blood vessels in an average stature only in a smaller space. When one exercises the vessels enlarge and there is not enough room. They get squished and pain, weakness and numbness to the liwer limbs is the result until the exertion stops and they return to normal size.
The constant pain during and even after the competition must have been unbelievable, I can only imagine. Possible permanent damage to joints, nerves, ligaments, etc. could mean a life time of pain, worsening arthritis, perminent spinal cord damage any of which could render him immobile for life.

Why do people lay their blood and bones out on the track, or risk their heart in the water for this? Each athlete has their own reason. John said he wanted the world to know that people who are different can do anything.

People who are different are capable of feats beyond the average person. That puts that term, “average person” in a different light doesn’t it?

 

2 thoughts on “IRONMAN

  1. Interesting article what John has accomplished is amazing. There maybe risks and I am sure he knows them. Everything is a risk especially in athletics the goal is to get the most out of your body. John has done that. I truly respect John he inspires me as an average sized person to dream big and push my limits. U an honored to know and race with john

  2. I really appreciate your blog post. I have been racing triathlons and marathon since 2009 and am now 50 years old. The ONLY pain I experience is the same as other runners, and that is, sore muscles. I have never been stronger and my knees and lower back do not hurt at all. I am two months out from the Ironman and am now back to training for the Boston Marathon, which I will run for the 5th consecutive year. To be honest, I experience far more discomfort when sitting or standing still for long periods of time. I can run or bike for hours and my body loves it.

Tell me what you think!

